About El Salvador

El Salvador achieved independence from Spain in 1821 and from the Central American Federation in 1839. A 12-year civil war, which cost about 75,000 lives, was brought to a close in 1992 when the government and leftist rebels signed a treaty that provided for military and political reforms.


Salvadorans fled during the 1979 to 1992 civil war mainly to the United States but also to Canada and to neighboring Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica. Emigration to the United States increased again in the 1990s and 2000s as a result of deteriorating economic conditions, natural disasters (Hurricane Mitch in 1998 and earthquakes in 2001), and family reunification. At least 20% of El Salvador’s population lives abroad. The remittances they send home account for close to 20% of GDP, are the second largest source of external income after exports, and have helped reduce poverty.

es-mapEl Salvador is the smallest Central American country and the only one that does not border the Carribian.  It has 14 departments and borders Guatemala and Honduras.

6,108,590 (July 2013 est.)

49.8% of this population is under 25 years old and only 13% are over 55.

El Salvador is the highest concentration of people per area of all the Central American Countries by far.  See the graph below.

Screen Shot 2014-09-19 at 5.36.52 PM

The Week That Was Fro_Garc (1)
Chief of State: President Salvador Sánchez Cerén was elected in March of 2014 after a inconclusive first election in February.  He is a member of the FMLN party which has it’s three pillars of “employment, security and education.”  As a former leader of the rebel army during the Civil War, his policies and party are left-wing and leaning towards “buen vivir” or “living well.”  He said, “Living Well is a current of ideas, of values, of social proposals and policies that runs through Latin America, that tells us it is possible to live in a society governed by equality and fraternity.”
Vice President:  Óscar Ortiz, FMLN party, former mayor of Santa Tecla is Vice President from 2014-19.
Cabinet: Council of Ministers selected by the president
Most of this information was taken from the CIA website: